What's new
What's new

More about Helicoils

veefre

Plastic
Saw a post about trouble helicoiling a V8 head in place... wrote a reply and then found I couldn't post it because the original post was archived.

Anyway, here's my reply for what it's worth. I imagine someone might find it of amusement or even value...

The proper way to renovate threaded holes on a V8 head would likely be to pull the head, hold it securely on a big drill press or Bridgeport type mill, and then drill out the holes precisely with the correct size drill for the STI tap, and follow that with a tap in exactly the same position.

I'm a machinist and have installed a fair number of helicoils, albeit usually in aluminum or other non-ferrous material (sometimes in titanium). There is a certain feel you need to have to know when you've loaded the insert into the insertion tool properly, and again when you've entered the STI tapped threaded hole properly.

I agree that a little deeper on the insertion is better than too shallow. If you install too shallow, and subsequently the installer puts tension on the fastener as it's being installed, it could pull out the first lead of the helicoil and then you gotta start over.

And of course you must break off that tang cleanly and make sure the tang remnant is blown out of the tapped hole before trying to thread in the fastener.

For exhaust studs I usually use some anti-seize compound, because steel exhaust studs are notorious for corroding in place and can be a real PITA to remove after they break.

Obviously a paint type primer isn't going to work in an exhaust stud
application. The paint would just burn away. Although I've seen a type of Loctite used on stud threads. Probably high temp stuff. From experience I'd rather have the stud come out of the head when pulling the header, than have the stud frozen to both the nut and the head and break off somewhere in between.