What's new
What's new

My wife says I have a problem

Mad Dad

Hot Rolled
Ok, does anyone else have this problem? I am addicted to tools! Doesn't matter what type of tool. And for some reason I have more then one of everything. I have 5 metal lathes. I have three milling machines. Six bandsaws. 6 drill presses. I even have a trencher used to dig trenches. I have two heavy duty trailers. And thats just the tip of the iceberg. I love fixing and restoring my tools as much as I enjoy using them. I love the "hunt" for tools! A little back ground - I don't even use tools for a living - I'm a computer scientist and mechanical engineer. Please tell me there are more people out there just like me? Maybe I can prove, through your response, that I'm not really crazy and that there are others like me. Help!

Well, I AM Tools. Nuf said...

Tools

PS Do a search and see if you can find the thread on how much in weight we all have in these things. That might make her feel GOOD about what you've got there. I seem to remember a gent who collects draglines...

Yup, your an addict. I have it too. I have way too much stuff for my size shop so I have been restraining myself from buying any more. It sure is painful.

If I do bring anything more home I have to do it when SWMBO is not around.

OK, I, for one, am like you. But that has no bearing on your sanity, or mine. All I can help you prove is that there are lots of madmen in the world.

I got my first power tool when I was ten, and my first metal lathe when I was fourteen. Now I am a 66 year old retired mechanical engineer and I refuse to say how many lathes, etc. I have (mostly because I can't find them all to take inventory). I do know that I don't have a trencher, though.

Oh, and my wife wanted to take a trip this fall. So I bought a Hardinge HSL speed lathe on eBay. It is too big for FedEx, but will fit in a car trunk. Off we go for a wonderful jaunt to scenic Lancaster, PA. She is sort of happy, and I get another lathe.

Larry