What's new
What's new

Need 2-1/4-6 backplate for my 1947 14.5 South Bend

gtmegrad

Plastic
I have a three jaw chuck that came with my South Bend 14.5" lathe. I also have a four jaw but the back plate was threaded for a different spindle. I am brand new to machining but still attempted to bore and rethread the backplate 2-1/4 and 6 tpi. The boring was the easy part but I failed miserably cutting the internal threads and ruined the piece.

Now I am looking for a backplate. Is my best option to try again or does someone have an old back plate laying around? Best source for a semi finished back plate?

My existing, ruined, back plate is about 6" in diameter and about 1-1/2" thick.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Good on you for having "a go" at making a backplate, but as a newcomer to machining, you have chosen quite a difficult job to do as your first one! Try looking at You Tube to give yourself some idea on how to do an internal thread, but consider roughing the next one out and giving it to an experienced machinist to finish for you. I'm not sure if you will ever find a correct original backplate for your machine, but you might be lucky. Good luck.

I owned one of these lathes, model circa 1967. I made backing plates for several chucks and made a gauge that simulates as close as I could come the spindle thread so I could check as I went. I sold the lathe but it is only a short distance away. the new owner says I can borrow the gauge, so if you want to have an unthreaded plate sent here, I will thread it, no charge, just pay shipping. Macch17 is correct, this is no job for a beginner.

Bill

Bill,
I have recently begun working on my lathe after the holidays and just today saw your post. You still willing to thread a plate for me? In crossthread's post there is a link "Used Metal Lathes... that lists a semi finished 6" back plate,HK30 870-106. Will this work? Thanks in advance!

Tom