What's new
What's new

Need advice on hot chips from engine lathe

Howihowi

Aluminum
Dear seasoned machinists,

I'm in need of your experience and advice. I use the lathe more than any other machines in my shop. I have about 3 years of experience running engine lathes and I'm quite comfortable with it. But one thing I could never get used to are the burning chips that fly all over me. Obviously, when I turn I make sure that:
- no gloves
- eye protection
- no jewelries
- sleeves rolled up

This also means the hot chips land on my arms all day long. The worst is when the chips fall in my shirt and I start doing what my colleagues call the "machinist dance".

I'm used to cutting with carbides. The Machinery's Handbook tells me to spin her fast with a lot of feed. I was also taught to produce blue chips, that means the heat is in the chips and not the tool.

So let me get this straight - spin her fast, get the chips hot and blue, and let the iron rain on my bare arms and face. I must be missing something here. What do you all do? What's the trick?

One idea I had this morning was, spin her in reverse, and mount a left hand carbide insert holder upside down. So essentially I'm cutting upside down. I think this may greatly help as most of the chips will fly directly towards the floor and the catch pan. What do you think?

Thank you all in advance,

Howi

Pocked, scarred, and blistered is the sign of an engine lathe hand. I never fully escaped the burn. The spinning chuck is the culprit for a lot of it. Collet work is easier for swarf containment.

Mounting the tool upside down will be problematic. That will put the cutting force in the upward direction. away from the mechanical advantage of the lathe. (wanting to lift the carriage)

Also if your not into production. Slowing it down to a gold chip might help. Back in school I was taught to make the chip leave gold and turn blue in midair.