What's new
What's new

Need advice on a new product I may make, wedge clamps.

DavidScott

Diamond
I have been making my own for a few years now and just did two new fixtures where I made some more. I always change the design a bit to better suit the parts I need to hold so I have "prototyped" many new ideas. The latest "idea" works much better than I expected and I think it may be something others may want. The new "idea" is to make the shells out of steel with teeth to hold the parts for the first op to do a better job holding less part.

The main differences between my parts and what is currently available:
1) When clamped to the designed width the wedge is even with the top of the shell.
2) The shell is screwed to the fixture so it doesn't get chips under it.
3) The corners have a .067" radius so the fit in a pocket with .062" radiused corners.
4) I like longer clamps so mine are 1" long.
5) All of my parts are machined from stock, with tight tolerances. The base of the shell is held to +/-.0005", probably guarantee +/-.001" if I go into production.
6) I like 10 degrees per side on the shells, vs 20 degrees which is what the competition uses.
7) My clamps don't like to expand more than .02" so I will offer different widths in .005" or .01" increments.
8) Steel shells with serrated edges. At the moment they are not hard enough for steel parts.