What's new
What's new

Need assistance with a milling job

Norman.paz13

Plastic
Gentlemen,

Let me start by saying I am not a machinist by trade.

I work for a metal fabrication company, where we laser cut, bend, and weld.

We have some small jobs requiring us to move .328" in from the edge, then plunge down .125" then mill a slot 1/4" wide x 1/2" long, the part we are machining is 3/16" thick.

I am running into problems with starting the cut. I am using a 1/4" 140 degree spotting drill, going down .123" to start. Then I am switching to a 1/4" 2 flute carbide endmill, I lower it into the pre drill hole, then start the cut.

After pre drilling, when I lower the endmill in and start moving. A bone shape develops at where I start the cut.

Can anyone help with preventing this from happening, the deformation doesn't seem to be happening when I lower the endmill in, but I may be wrong.

I have tried just straight plunging with the 2 Fl endmill, and 4 Fl endmill no pre drill hole, with the same results.

I will attach a blueprint, and photos of the machining process, to help better understand.

I am using a manual Bridgeport clone made by JET.

Import R8 tooling for the endmill, and a import drill chuck for the spotting drill.

Thanks in advance.

Here are some photos

Attachments

• 20200127_180214.jpg
    20200127_180214.jpg
    101.5 KB · Views: 220
  • 20200127_175109.jpg
    20200127_175109.jpg
    90 KB · Views: 196
  • 20200127_174218.jpg
    20200127_174218.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 190
  • Screenshot_20200127-200826_Adobe Acrobat.jpg
    Screenshot_20200127-200826_Adobe Acrobat.jpg
    78.6 KB · Views: 162
What material? Cheap endmills are false economy, even if everything else is low end import buy decent end mills that are made for the material at hand.