What's new
What's new

Need diamond file recommendation

magneticanomaly

Titanium
There are lots of diamond files on the market. Many are single-layer diamond grit captured in electroplated nickel, some look like diamond grit mixed with metal and then sintered, or anyway seem to have a much thicker abrasive depth. Some have holes to look bigger with less material

I want a few simple files with which I can file or touch up carbide by hand. Form factor like an ordinary 6" or 8" flat file would be fine. I do not want one with holes, because small or pointy workpieces would foul the holes and get blunted. I have no experience with diamonds so I do not sure what grits I need a) to file .010" off a 1/8" x 1/4" carbide tip in reasonable time, then b) to get a durable cutting edge

Of course I want e-bay price and De Beers quality. How close can I get? Who has bought some and been happy? Fool's errand?

Explain more on touch up carbide by hand and what is reasonable time. (or not)
Most plated files are way to course for this work.
Resin bond diamond grinding wheels are cheap on e-yuck.
Smash one with a hammer and you have broken sections that make great diamond files.
.010 in carbide is a lot to do by hand filing but will .002 off the top and .002 off the front do the trick? Much easier than trying to take the wear land top work only.
Ten thou off the top by hand will need to start with a serious grit and work your way down in grit or the edge will be poop.
Bad picture but below some sections that came out or wheel wrecks. One a 120 the other a 400, not on purpose but useful.
Use some water, not dry. All finish strokes need to be into the cutting edge keeping the carbide in compression.
I do not think you will like doing doing this very often and HF bench grinders are cheap. Slower speed better.
Bob

Attachments

• diamond.jpg
    diamond.jpg
    55.2 KB · Views: 67