What's new
What's new

Mounting HSS in a CNC lathe

scotdani

Plastic
Greetings, PM crew! First time post but long time subscriber. I'm an engineering student but been machining for a little more than a decade now!

For my current class, I have a group project for a mechanics laboratory to take an "everyday object" and perform a series of stress tests on it. Our group has picked a square HSS turning tool for our object. I think it's going to be fun, but here is where the challenges come in.

Naturally, we can use a manual lathe to easily set up the tool and take some cuts and readings. The downside is we would have to do extra math for every pass since you can't achieve constant surface speed on a manual. If we used a CNC, however, we'd have a lot more control over the cutting parameters, but setting up a HSS tool in a CNC turret, like a Haas SL series lathe, seems like an awkward task since I've only used indexable holders in my experience.

Has anyone had experience with setting up a HSS tool in a CNC lathe for turning?

Not personally but I've clamped HSS in a vise and turned a pin to repair a lathe with. A mill may be more friendly for measuring deflection as well.

It's a lathe tool, which in 99% of cases is set on centre height by adding packing slips, and that's all there is to it, ...............if once at centre height you have vacant space of top of the tool - pack that as well.

To make life easier use a simple tool height gauge.

I have used hss for production machining of Teflon on CNC turning centers. We had an assortment of spacers and shims to adjust center height. Right angled spacers are nice because they space the tool so it is centered under the clamping screws too.