What's new
What's new

Need Help surfacing stainless steel nuts

GabrielMB

Plastic
Hello everyone,
First, please excuse my lack of experience, i have only very recently bought my first mini lathe so I may very much be overlooking something very simple or making a beginner mistake.
I am a novice ring maker and i have recently bought a lathe in order to speed up to process of doing it with a disc sander.
However, when i try surfacing the nuts, i get a terrible surface finish and a lot of vibration.
I realize the surface of a nut is hexagonal so irregular, but even as that surface is removed with very shallow passes, the nut vibrates like crazy and the lathe motor shuts off very regularly. I am using tungsten cutters with carbide inserts which i make sure to keep cool.
If anyone has any tips on surfacing irregular surfaces and can offer any tips, they would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

It is possible that a mini lathe may not have the strength to resist cutting forces needed to penetrate the martial.

Possible the mass/weight of a small lathe will not resist the vibration that comes from motors, pulleys and moving mass.

Possibly your cutting tools of bits and inserts are not sharp enough or have the proper geometry (shape).

Interrupted cuts like rounding a hex nut are difficult with any machine and more difficult with a small or lightweight machine.

Often tungsten cutters with carbide inserts ate not super sharer edged so may need more machine strength and RPM to cut effectively.

Converting a manufactured something like a nut may be more difficult and more expensive than just buying the material in a simple form like round stock... or altered round stock, like round stock sent to a manufacturing shop to be drilled.

And the work hardening factor.

Your OP couldn't be more vague.
How much of a cut are you trying to take?
What cutter (exact make and model) are you using?
What is the exact material.