What's new
What's new

Need help with thread technical dimentions

nathanhouse

Plastic
hey guys,
I'm an engine machinist so I know numbers but I don't have to deal with technical drawings and those sorts of specifics. I'm teaching myself CAD and getting better at it all the time and I have a part that I want to have made which has a custom male and female thread. What I need is the correct dimensions to give to the machinist so that the parts will fit together properly. What I'm looking for is the male thread diameter is 72mm with a 3mm thread pitch and a class 3 fit ( I want it a bit loose) What information do I need to give to the machinist for both parts, male and female, given the above requirements? Thanks for any help.
-Nathan

Metric thread tolerances are specified as a "grade" and a "position", not a class - btw, not relevant but FYI - class 3 for UN threads is tight, not loose.

You can read all about it here.

However, a good general purpose choice is 6g/6H, and that's what you would expect to get if you don't specify.

Your male thread should be called out on your drawing as "M72 x 3 6g", female as "M72 x 3 6H"

You'll need to read the link to determine if you really need something else.

Metric thread tolerances are specified as a "grade" and a "position", not a class - btw, not relevant but FYI - class 3 for UN threads is tight, not loose.

You can read all about it here.

However, a good general purpose choice is 6g/6H, and that's what you would expect to get if you don't specify.

Your male thread should be called out on your drawing as "M72 x 3 6g", female as "M72 x 3 6H"

You'll need to read the link to determine if you really need something else.

I will, Thanks so much!!

hey guys,