What's new
What's new

Need Schaublin Parting Blade

Lev

Plastic
I have a Schaublin 102N lathe and I need some 1 x 10 x 100mm parting blades. The 100mm length dimension is not critical. Can anyone tell me where I can get some of these? I tried contacting Schaublin but have not heard back from them. Everything I see online is non-metric.

Thanks very much for your suggestion. I don't think there is any room for negotiating on the height and width, but I was wondering about grinding. Any concern about changing the hardness of the blade with grinding? I'm a dumb engineer, not a machinist.

There are many setups for parting blades depending on what type of tool post that you have on your lathe. What tool post are you using?

For instance, I bought a Multifix size A tool post set (that would also fit the Schaublin 102) back in the 1980's. I soon found out that the cutoff holder took an odd metric blade (might have been 10 mm) that I could not find in my tool catalogs except in the SPI catalog at a very high price. I milled the clamping bar with an angled cut and added a shim under the clamp so that it now uses common (cheap) 1/2" beveled blades.

If you want to pay $91.35 for a blade, here is a current source of the blade that fits the unaltered size A holder. They call it 3/8", but maybe they did a rough conversion from 10 mm. The blade for the Aa holder is thinner and shorter, but still listed as 3/8" high and costs $93.40.

SPI Swiss Multiquick: 40 Position Quick Change Tool Holder for all Lathes - Penn Tool Co., Inc
SPI Swiss Multiquick HSS Blade, 7/64" x 3/8" - 71-345-3 - Penn Tool Co., Inc

Larry

DSC00221.jpg

It says "Original Multifix Suisse -A- MIVESA made in Switzerland GENEVE