What's new
What's new

Need some help

Stang393

Plastic
I am a total newbie at this. I bough this kit off amazon for my lathe. I know its not the best but to start off with it was good enough. My problem is I want to buy some different carbide for the tools. I did a google search and found a how to read a carbide web page but it didn't fully answer my question. My set came with CCMT21.5.
C= diamond
C= 7 degree
M= .002-.005
T= 40-60° double countersink

My question is what is the 21.5 my guess is
2= is the size, which cart say 2=.25 what does this mean?
1= thickness so i have a 1 inch thick cutter?
.5= radius not sure cutting edge?

I still don't know the size of the whole that my screw goes though to screw down the carbide to my holder. Also when looked for new carbide what numbers do I need to transfer because of the size holder I have. I know the shank is 1/2 X 1/2 but that it. Thanks for the help and if this is not clear let me know an I will try to clear it up.

I am a total newbie at this. I bough this kit off amazon for my lathe. I know its not the best but to start off with it was good enough. My problem is I want to buy some different carbide for the tools. I did a google search and found a how to read a carbide web page but it didn't fully answer my question. My set came with CCMT21.5.
C= diamond
C= 7 degree
M= .002-.005
T= 40-60° double countersink

My question is what is the 21.5 my guess is
2= is the size, which cart say 2=.25 what does this mean?
1= thickness so i have a 1 inch thick cutter?
.5= radius not sure cutting edge?

I still don't know the size of the whole that my screw goes though to screw down the carbide to my holder. Also when looked for new carbide what numbers do I need to transfer because of the size holder I have. I know the shank is 1/2 X 1/2 but that it. Thanks for the help and if this is not clear let me know an I will try to clear it up.

Pix of lathe would help...and Oh yeah, "in before the lock"...:ack2: