What's new
What's new

Need some help on deciding what brand lathe to buy, and need help with vfd opitions?

Stampede

Aluminum
As the title states, need some help with buying a larger lathe, I currently have a South Bend #9. It has done ok, but... it's not big enough to say the least. I have been a somewhat machinist for 20+ years, I say machinist, but reality I can make chips, not parts, I have seen a lot of really good machinist over the years, and I do not compare.
With saying that, I am able to do all of my government jobs at work, but I would like to be able to do everything at home. For a couple of reasons, being home more, and I feel that my current job will no longer be there, or be able to do my G jobs. I am always doing something, fixing stuff around the house, making side money, ect...
So, I thought I was going to step up to a South Bend Heavy 10, but I'm not sure now. I have never seen one in person, to know for sure, haven't found one close to go look at. Been looking on craigs list, facebook market place, and found a few that I was interested in, the Rockwells seem to go fast, heavy 10s are on pricey side. There are some many to choose from, here are some examples I liked.
What are some important thing to look at when buying used equipment? Check the head stock bearings with a long bar and indicator, look for a ridge on the bed ways.

And whats a good affordable VFD, only have single phase at the house.

Thank you.

Attachments

• Clausing Lathe.jpg
    Clausing Lathe.jpg
    15.2 KB · Views: 152
  • 107869304_2377343222569423_788543562724114304_o.jpg
    107869304_2377343222569423_788543562724114304_o.jpg
    91.6 KB · Views: 147