What's new
What's new

New Apprentice--Tips and help please

crb06

Aluminum
Hello everyone! My name is Caleb and I am an apprentice at a local Machine Tool shop in my state and am going to school to be a machinist. I just recently bought a Kennedy toolbox from my boss, (the 526 eight drawer and a 295 five drawer) I was wanting to know if anyone has any tips to clean up the Kennedy toolboxes and tips to organize them, maybe also a list of tools I may need? Right now I am mostly using my fellow coworkers tools for now.

Thanks in advanced!

It's nice of them to lend them to you!

doesn't your apprenticeship program offer such a list? Or, ask your boss or shop forman.

Boss keeps telling me that we will sit down and look at a tool catalog but always gets caught up with office work or other important stuff, dont wanna interrupt

{I am mostly using my fellow coworkers tools for now.}
Hard to tell what tools with not knowing what is the work..or machines used.
Best to buy what you borrow. treat borrowed tools with high care. boss or journeyman's advice.
Spend much of pay check on tools if you can.. buy good condition name brand tools. If you can not afford new, Good used may be Ok.
Junk micrometers, even used name brand may zero zero at close and then be off at at mid range. So good to check closed and at mid range with a jo-block

Last edited:
For now I am running CNC Machines (already set up and ready for me to run parts) but back and forth between cutting stock and CNC Machines until they find a good position for me to stay at for the future.

Outside of some basic stuff like
12" digital caliper
1" travel .001" indicator
Test indicator
Noga magnetic base
Edge finder

It's highly dependent on what you are machining/working on.

Example: I have an entire roll around filled with wrenches, sockets,Alligning bars, and other stuff from when I worked in repair shops... I use like 1 drawer of that stuff now at my current job.