What's new
What's new

New to forum: Toolmaker getting into die repair looking for insight.

ToolFixer

Plastic
Hi all,

I'm a tool maker that just got himself into welding and hand working forming/shearing dies.

My background is all work on grinding machines cranking handles or programming toolpaths for progressive die tooling. Anyone have some insight into the role I'm getting myself into? I've actual never seen the exact process of welding then hand working dies and I couldn't find much information online. I'd love to have a little knowledge about the process to get some tools ordered and not immediately look like a dumb***.

Thanks!

I don't understand quite what you mean by "hand working" on a die repair after welding. Beyond the initial return of geometry by milling/turning/grinding I can only imagine using hand held tools with abrasives for finishing. If you've been a toolmaker then you should be fairly clear about what it means to polish the working surface on a form punch or die section. If not, there's plenty of info available on the stones used, the progression, direction, and final polishing with diamond paste if/when called for. The makers of those abrasives have lots of info on their websites because they want their products purchased/used on the job.

If you've never seen tool steels welded then you better have some good reference reading because it's not something that works out well by trial and error. A poorly welded cutting edge can easily chip off and travel down the die progression destroying other components with each press stroke. I've welded many punches and die sections but that was only to finish the production run while I started making a new component to replace it. That's not to say a welded component can't be trusted it was just the company policy didn't feel it was worth the risk in long production runs.