What's new
What's new

New to forum, and where to get ENCO knee mill parts?

CDennyRun

Plastic
Hello everyone! I'm new to the form, but have been reading posts on here for a long time. Seems like a lot of good people here!

I just bought an Enco 100-1525 (8x36) mill, and the X&Y axis both have a fair about of backlash.. much more than I would like. I'd like to get new lead screw nuts for it as well as the Z fine feed engagement wheel. I know I can fabricate the fine feed wheel, but it would be nice to have the factory one. I have searched a bit online, and it looks like they went out of business in 2016. MSC pops up as a supplier, but I didn't see much of anything on there for Enco mills. Can anyone help me here?

I looked for an Enco specific section on the sight and didn't find one, so that's why I posted in the general section.

Thanks in advance folks! I really appreciate it.

Chris Denny

That is a home shop type mill I believe and parts will be a issue. Take a look and see if Grizzly isn't still selling something very similar ,if so a good chance you MIGHT be able to source parts from them. Enco/MSC were never real good about parts for older machines. Also JET and other sold very similar mills.

These mills are known as A1S or 8x36 style mills. Ok quality, but I have seen a number of them and no two are quite alike. Things like 1/10" or 1/8" pitch leascrews. The later is not so good if you are math challenged. Good luck!

Thanks guys! I might just pull the lead screw nuts out and bring them to my favorite machine shop to be duplicated. Most of the other things I can take care of myself.

I know it's not a high quality machine and it has it's quirks, but I'm just happy to have a knee style milling machine at home finally. I only gave $1000 for it with a two axis Mitutoyo DRO, so If figure if I have to put a few hundred bucks into it to machine to my standards.. it's worth it.

Thanks a lot for the help guys.

Regards,

Chris Denny