What's new
What's new

New to the forum, and why I signed up

DumpsterFire

Plastic
Hello Ya'll

I've been finding a lot of good information as needed on here over the years, and recently decided to join because I got the itch to purchase a lathe. I'm not a novice, but I'm also not anywhere near as seasoned as I could/should be. I was learning under my workplace machinist who has since retired, and as fabrication isn't a main part of my job I haven't gotten the hours and practice, nor do I have many avenues for advice, as my age range.... uh.. anyway.

Here's my angle: I can't stand new stuff, I'm not broke but I am on a budget, so 10k, even 1k is a little steep. I tend to buy everything but underwear and socks used. I fix quite a bit of the more heavy duty tools I acquire, and thoroughly enjoy doing so. Now lathes. We have a summit and a clausing at work. It's not a playground so I can't just bring in engine parts and ideas all willy nilly. So recently I've found a behemoth of a lathe. American machine works, 14" x 72," maybe 84," and it's dirt cheap, obvious inspection is necessary before purchase, but it's 200 miles away. I don't have all the accoutrements to haul such a dinosaur etc. but if it is in decent condition and the tailstock, chuck, gearing etc don't have a bunch of play and or damage, I would consider taking it home in a heartbeat. I also found an unknown much smaller lathe, runs, comes with tools (rough tools at that) and again measurements, inspection are needed. I can probably get it home without renting anything too.