What's new
What's new

New guy here, cylinder head question

gixxer50

Plastic
Let me start by saying Hello to all. I am a professional mechanic. I am interested in buying an inexpensive mill for resurfacing cylinder heads. Any suggestions on Used machines would b appreciated.

Thank you,
Dave

If you are a pro, you should be using professional tools, and an inexpensive mill won't be the ticket. Buy a purpose-built head surfacer. If you need money, you can always sell your $9500 Snap-On rolling toolbox!

I have resurfaced some things on a bridgeport, before but your better off to get something that is going to be more ridgid setup. You will also need a big cutter like the ones listed above probley atleast a 8-10inch facemill. As far as the cutter above they look like a pretty good milling cutter. The last machine I was using was a cincinnati of some sort and used a NMTB 40. The millhead will also need to be tiltable or you need to make angled fixtures. The bridgeport would only be a secondary option if I could not find a bigger mill with the NMBT 40 spindle. Also make sure you don't go cheap on your head holding fixture, make a good ridge holding system.

Inexpensive is a relative term. What is your budget? Seriously, inexpensive to me may be crazy pricy to the next guy. Good machine tools and inexpensive generally aren't used in conjunction.

Generally, inexpensive, decent mills lead into discussions of machines like the Bridgeport. There are lots of them around and some good prices can be found. If you want a mill for a variety of things and intend to resurface a cylinder head once in a while, then a Bridgeport will work. Keep in mind that a Bridgeport (and the many clones) are very universal machines, but they are going to require good fixtures, some set up time, and are not going to be good choices for any kind of production / volume work in that application.