What's new
What's new

1-1/2 12tpi Issues (Single Point Threading)

Homernukem

Plastic
I'm new to single point threading. I've made a few before, but I just kinda did whatever untill it fit. Now I'm making a Inch and a half, 12 thread. Male and Female.

The problem is I don't understand the geometry

1.5.12NutAndBolt.jpg

This is a CAD file I drew of my thread.

The OD and ID of both the Nut and Bolt make sense and align up like they should, but the threads are too wide. I set every measurement to what it says in the book. (30 machinery handbook).

I used the flat sizes for the major diameter on the nut and minor diameter on the bolt because that's what I have control over when I grind my cutting bit.

Does that make sense? When I'm cutting threads I'm cutting into the roots of the threads. The crests end up being how ever wide they end up. So that's how I drew my picture.

Please explain. I'm doing this for my work. I am the machinist department. (no formal training on it) I'm learning as much as I can. I've read a lot on these forums and youtube for my knowlege.

Don't worry about what your picture says. You probably screwed up somewhere.

Do you have a mating piece? Does it only have to work for that piece? Set your lathe to 12tpi and thread until it fits.

Are you trying to do it better? Then invest in a set of thread wires.

The calculations are:

Best wire size:
Code:
 .57735 x 1/pitch (find the closest size in the set to this and use it for further calculations not the calculated size)

Measurement over wires
Code:
= Pitch diamter (see online or Machinery's handbook) - .86603 x 1/pitch + 3x Best wire size(actual not calculated)

To calculate the other limit for pitch diameter just add or subtract the differences of the min/max from your previously calculated answer. No need to repeat the whole thing again.

Since you are making both pieces make the male first and to spec and thread the female to suit.