What's new
What's new

New member, advice needed: Gorton Tracemaster

AJ_MI

Plastic
Hi, new member longtime lurker.

I have a Gorton Tracemaster I picked up a few years ago, and am now getting around to setting it up. It has the big clunky hydraulic tracing system, that I think I’d like to remove. I like the idea of retaining a power feed, but not the rest of it. What advice would you have regarding the tracing system? Remove it all, keep part of it (which parts?), etc? Does it have any value as a complete system?

As far as how I will be using the mill, basically to tinker and make one-off parts. I’m not terribly interested in dumping it for a Bridgeport or other suitably simpler machine for my use.

Thanks for your suggestions!

Attachments

• 16EAD741-C24E-4BCD-8301-E69E3436E92F.jpg
    16EAD741-C24E-4BCD-8301-E69E3436E92F.jpg
    10.4 KB · Views: 97
  • CC8CE2B8-D474-4352-BB4B-32CB8FA50758.jpg
    CC8CE2B8-D474-4352-BB4B-32CB8FA50758.jpg
    14.1 KB · Views: 100
  • E1BB38C0-A28A-4B16-AA20-7F565BBB65EC.jpg
    E1BB38C0-A28A-4B16-AA20-7F565BBB65EC.jpg
    15.4 KB · Views: 93
  • 785C9458-7C37-4432-B6ED-198A4F4E1FDD.jpg
    785C9458-7C37-4432-B6ED-198A4F4E1FDD.jpg
    17.9 KB · Views: 117
I had one and in 20 years it only ran one job, but it did it several times a year. A commercial bakery turned out 100k sugar cookies a day, a lot of them sessional.. Christmas trees, stars, animals and so forth....

A couple times a year they'd need the rollers that ironed out the shapes sharpened up. Rollers got a hair cut in the lathe and then up into the mill to re-depth the pockets in the shape of Christmas trees, stars, animals and so forth. I retained the masters.

Long story short, it was useful if you had a job to run, providing someone doesn't have a Dxf file for the same job.
PS, invest in ear muffs