What's new
What's new

New member intro: New to machining

GemK

Plastic
Hello, my name is Gem and I am relatively new to machining. My little experience includes turning brake rotors and drums, along with a few simple cuts made on a Bridgeport.

I am starting the "manufacturing technologies" program at my local junior college tomorrow with the end goal of finding myself a job in an automotive machine shop... I want to build engines, not just high performance stuff, grocery getters need engines too.

I figured this forum could be a good resource for me for school and for my projects.
I have a pretty cool project in the works at the moment, building a turbocharged EFI 300 Ford straight six. It will require quite a bit of machine work and it would be really cool if I could perform even one of the processes myself, perhaps at school... but that is a ways off.

Anyhow I thought an introduction would be a good way to start things off, I apologize in advance if I have posted this in the wrong part of the forum.
I hope to learn and be continually active in this forum to the point where I have more to contribute than take away.

Thanks,
Gem

Glad to have you with us, Gem. There is a huge store of knowledge and experience here. Like endgrainandiron suggests, some here can be more than a little difficult. One thing you can do to get off to a good start with this group is your homework! By that, I mean for any given problem hit the books, do some research, try to figure it out and then ask for help. If you tell us what you've done to help yourself you'll get much kinder, more helpful responses. Other than that, just expect to have some less than civil feedback. Ignore those and pick out the good stuff and you'll be set.

Welcome, I hate to be the bearer of bad news but automotive machining is becoming a dying trade. This is because most engines these days are kamikaze engines...meaning they run until they die, then put in a replacement.