What's new
What's new

New Member looking for Machinist running repair information.

UKJay

Plastic
Hi Fellas,
I'm new to the community and I would like to ask if there are any methods ( accepted or otherwise) to reclaim enough Outside Diameter on small journals ( 3/4 " and below ) on shafts that run in small ball bearings. I was on shift last weekend and was asked to see if I could facilitate a running repair on a check weigher ( for small packaged frozen food packages ) . When I stripped the unit down the journal that was running in a 608 2RS ball bearing had worn about 20 thou and I had no spares . The repair had to last a 12 hour shift. By the way I am not a machinist I am a mechanically biased maintenance engineer. The only thing I could think of was to put a knurl on the shaft but I could not get more than 40 percent of the journal because of the wall of the knurling tool holder. My repair worked for 4 hours then failed so I would humbly like to ask some of you obviously elite machinists ( judging by reading many threads ) are there any other methods I could have employed?
Thanks in advance fellas,
Jay.

Need more information - is the shaft diameter at the bearing location the same diameter all the way to the end of the shaft where the bearing is installed from? How is the bearing retained on the shaft? (Snap ring? Bearing collar? Nut on shaft?) . . . can you give us a sketch?

Could've globbed some weld on there and then turn the diameter back to size. Hard to say without seeing it.

Brent

Sorry Guys if I was sparse with technical info. The shaft was 410 Stainless , the total length was 300 mm . The journals were 20 mm long and originally machined to be an extremely light press fit in a 608 2RS bearing ( 8mm ID x 22 mm OD x 7mm race thickness. The abutment OD was 12mm i.e. the rest of the shaft diameter was the same.
Jay.

Emergency fix: Center punch all around the shaft as even as you can, smear some JB weld on, press on the bearing and let it cure.