What's new
What's new

New to metal lathe....question about small diameter rods....

Shigs

Plastic
I'm pretty new to learning the lathe but loving the journey! I have some square rod stock that is 1/4 x 1/4 and 8" long. I'm trying to turn it into ROUND rod, but having a terrible time with it flexing, either by itself in the chuck, or by inserting a live center in the tail end. Is there really anyway to make it work?

I'm pretty new to learning the lathe but loving the journey! I have some square rod stock that is 1/4 x 1/4 and 8" long. I'm trying to turn it into ROUND rod, but having a terrible time with it flexing, either by itself in the chuck, or by inserting a live center in the tail end. Is there really anyway to make it work?

ust one question "WHY ?)
J

Workpiece that small will flex very easily. Might have to extend it no more than 1/2" at a time from the chuck, cut that, then slide the piece out another 1/2" or so. Once the desired length is cut, then extend it full length, support with a center and gently blend with a file. Will be difficult to hold an exact diameter. You could maybe use a roller box tool and get full length in 1 chucking with a stable dimension but thats going to take some fiddling and investment in tooling to get working.

Since your new to the lathe: The only way to do this is to cut 2" at a time with a center and move the work out of the chuck 2" more and repeat until you have cut the full length of the work. Then file, polish and measure; until you have completed the job. There are limits to the forces required in machining. Unfortunately you are fighting mother nature. Go and purchase the 1/4" dia. rod.
Roger

You wouldn't be trying to make .22lr Boolits by chance ?

What lathe are you attempting this on ?