What's new
What's new

Newbie with Collet Issue

NewfoundlandLaw

Plastic
Hey All

I am new to the world of milling, but I decided to give it a go. (I am a longtime knife and pen maker, who will mainly be using it to machine knife guards, handle cutouts and other simple tasks.)

I have a King KC-20VS-2 milling machine. I believe this is a common cheap milling machine that has multiple clones, such as the Craftex CX601 and multiple others.

Here is a link to the King Machine I have:

Milling drilling machine with digital readout KING Canada - Power Tools, Woodworking and Metalworking Machines by King Canada

And here is a ink to my R8 ER32 Collet system:

https://www.accusizetools.com/0223-0974-er-32-r8-x-4-12-ps-set-er-collet-systems-with-r8-shank/

My question is simple. While the R8 chuck (collet holder) fits the machine, I cant figure out how to tighten the collet retaining nut to the required specs. My machine doesn't seem to have a breaking system, so the spindle just turns freely.

Am I missing something here?

Thanks for all your help. Reading this forum has been a lifesaver!

The obvious question you left unanswered is, how do you tighten and loosen the drawbar for your R8 chuck? If you can tighten the drawbar, then the same method should let you tighten the ER32 collet nut.

If you can't answer that question, then I can only suggest you mill or grind a pair of wrench flats on the R8 chuck body, in the area near the etched size marking. Make it fit a large open end wrench of whatever inch or metric size seems appropriate.

I guess you know that "real" milling machines have spindle brakes or locking pins to make changing the R8 tooling simple. They do not depend upon an 8mm wrench to hold the spindle against normal R8 tightening torque. Yes, I read your machine instructions. I expect that 8mm flat to get rounded off if you have to use it for normal tightening.

Larry