What's new
What's new

Newbie here. Hello to all.

Newman109

Diamond
Sacramento County, California, USA California
Hello to all. I'm out here in Northern California. Just joined up to learn more about my favorite topics - machining and welding. I'm mainly a hobbyist and motorcyclist. I have a 13 X 40 Enco Geared Gap bed lathe and a H.F. Mill Drill with lots of tooling for both. I also have a Lincoln SP175 plus MIG and a vintage AC/DC 250/250 TIG Stick Idealarc welder as well as an O/A cart. I like to weld aluminum and stainless and make stuff for motorcycles and cars.

I'll probably lurk a lot and only pipe up when I feel that I can contribute. I'm extremely impressed with the level of knowledge in this forum!

Regards to all!

Newman109

I have a 13 X 40 Enco Geared Gap bed lathe and a H.F. Mill Drill
Two mistakes you would not have made if you
would have joined us sooner. :D

Get 'um Bob

Geez dualkit...pounding him already!! Watchit you'll scare 'im off.

Howdy Newman109

Don't pay too much attention to Dualkit. If your machines work for you, then they are just what you need. Lot's of strong opinions here on machines and where they were made.

Glad you joined us.

Dave

Welcome, Newman109;

Nice to have you to the Forum.
Jamie
p.s. Don't pay no mind to Dualkit.
" Opinions are like A$$holes...
Everybody has one ".
:D

quote: I said...."I have a 13 X 40 Enco Geared Gap bed lathe and a H.F. Mill Drill"

and then Dualkit said:

"Two mistakes you would not have made if you
would have joined us sooner"

It's all in how one views it. In the $2-3K range, ENCO does a good job. I bought the Enco about ten years ago for $2,300 and there was nothing I could find in an American lathe in good condition for less than $10K, new or used.

As to the H.F. Mill Drill, it has served me well. They are all about the same....you either have a Bridgeport or a Mill Drill, I guess.

Newman109;
Welcome Aboard!