What's new
What's new

Newbie question on converting drill press to mill

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lmheim

Plastic
Hi. I am a hobbyist looking to learn basic machining to use in welding and fabrication. I know I am going to be flamed for my question, but bear with me because I am severely cost constrained and let’s be honest- probably everyone on this forum simply likes making their own tools.

I am converting a 1937 craftsman drill press into an end mill. It is in spectacular condition. I am replacing the bearings with tapered bearings to properly accommodate the lateral milling forces. Since this tool is so old it is solid as hell but am going to add a bit of external bracing to make it even more solid. My question is this: the spindle is solid rod. I want to install a collet system but since I can’t insert anything inside the spindle I must use some type of externally mounted system. At least for now, I don’t want to completely change the spindle and quill because that may not be workable with the existing original 1937 cast iron housing/frame which I need to keep for cost reasons (and I just plain love the way it looks). Any thoughts or suggestions from you pros?

I don’t need high precision or high speeds. I will address work piece holders as well but that is an easier thing to take care of than the tool holder issue. I look forward to hearing your ideas. Thanks.

Last edited:
If I was able to spend the money I would. However the drill press was free and the bearings cost about $60 for a set of 4. I still have to buy tooling, tool holders and work holder/table. Like I said, I am severely cost constrained so buying a mill is simply not within my means. I’m hoping someone will look beyond that and offer some workable suggestions for my situation.