What's new
What's new

Newbie Questions for Metal Lathe Spindle Speed

Anthonytn79

Plastic
Hi Guys,
I'm a total newbie here. I'm about to get my first metal lathe to learn to turn titanium wedding bands. I'm looking at 3 models one with variable spindle speed control, one gearbox, and one gear head.
What are the differents between a gearbox and gearhead?
Because I make different ring sizes I thought I would need to change the spindle speed alot based on recommended spindle speed for different diameter of the titanium rod. So here's another question.
For the non variable control lathe with say 6 preset speeds: 100, 260, 400, 600, 1000, 1400.
If I turn a rod with "x" diameter and recommended spindle speed is 460. Well 460 is not one of the preset spindle speed and the motor is not variable control. Do I have to change the gear, belt or both to get the recommended speed of the spindle? And how do I measure the speed to make sure it's in the correct range?
Thanks in advance!

What horsepower is the lathe, what titanium grade are you going to use, how stiff is the lathe, what inserts are you planning to cut with and what surface finish are you trying to achieve? Are all cuts cylindrical or are the lathes CNC?

Hi Guys,
I'm a total newbie here. I'm about to get my first metal lathe to learn to turn titanium wedding bands. I'm looking at 3 models one with variable spindle speed control, one gearbox, and one gear head.
Because I make different ring sizes I thought I would need to change the spindle speed alot based on recommended spindle speed for different diameter of the titanium rod. So here's another question.
For the non variable control lathe with say 6 preset speeds: 100, 260, 400, 600, 1000, 1400.