What's new
What's new

Newby trying to figure out best clamping method. 3" Tubing onto bridgeport table

Goerger

Plastic
Im a sheetmetal guy but the army thinks im a machinist. I agreed to use my newly purchased bridgeport to mill some aluminum tubing that will be used as spreader bars for rigging helicopters or components inside of cargo jets. The ends of the 3" aluminum tube get holes and relief to make way for the chains. I dont own an incredible amount of tooling and this project has a deadline. I would very much appreciate advice for clamping to my table and an appropriate cutter. Its 1/4 wall 6061 al.

Plasma cutter with a template....Well, it would get the job done eh ?

Do you have a couple of "Vee" blocks handy ? see if you can set them up on the bridgy table, strap clamp on top to hold the tube into the Vee blocks.

Im a sheetmetal guy but the army thinks im a machinist. I agreed to use my newly purchased bridgeport to mill some aluminum tubing that will be used as spreader bars for rigging helicopters or components inside of cargo jets. The ends of the 3" aluminum tube get holes and relief to make way for the chains. I dont own an incredible amount of tooling and this project has a deadline. I would very much appreciate advice for clamping to my table and an appropriate cutter. Its 1/4 wall 6061 al.
often just clamp 2 pieces of wood with .020" shim between and hole saw a 3" hole through them. when the 1/2 round wood pieces are clamped down to table with tubing in them, with hold down clamps since they are round shape they will not distort tubing as much as the hold down clamps alone. you could use aluminum pieces too but if tolerances not critical, wood will often work as soft jaws like a soft collet to less likely leave a mark on part being clamped

Lay the tube along a t slot. clamp the bottom of tube bore to table. for good result both ends need to get clamped