Newby trying to figure out best clamping method. 3" Tubing onto bridgeport table - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Goerger View Post
    Yes. We have a really nice belt sander at work. Im going to pin the work and swing it to meet the radius spec.
    I placed an order just now through msc for a ream, a set of v blocks, a 1.5" 4"LOC 2 flute end mill and an r8 holder for its 1.25" shank.
    In the meantime im going to continue considering clamping methods but i feel confident that this is going to be successful.
    Im not too experienced using my mill with high accuracy and finish in mind. I have the older step pulley head. Would you, or anyone else give me cutting advice such as rpm, should i rough some out with one of my many used cutters saving life on the one new one? How much material should i attempt to remove on the first / subsequent passes?
    You fellas are awesome, so happy i joined this forum.
    That will almost certainly be exciting! Tube likes to flex and move. Big cutters like to suck the edges of tube in and that's too much cutter for a bridgeport. When I do stuff that's to big, I prefer to make a lot of downward strokes so that I'm only removing material in a tiny area. I think you will not possibly take the whole width with the side of the cutter. Best of luck.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I like kopal http://www.kopal.eu/download/Kopal_c...l_clamp_42.pdf, I don't like the price though, but you can use the chain idea with other way of tensioning.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New Jersey
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)