What's new
What's new

Nitride and Heat Treat Help

fernjul

Plastic
I've been doing this for 20+ years and have had 2 crazy things happen in heat treat.

1. Core hardened 4140 steel slugs Ø3" x 1" thick. Finish machined them holding +/-.0003 on 2 critical bores and 1 outer diameter. Parts were supposedly nitrided for 24 hours at a .026 case depth. Parts came back with the OD oversized by .007" and the ID's about .004" oversized. How can this possibly be? Maybe my material guy sent me the wrong material? Could the heat treater have carburized the parts instead of nitride? Could they have re-heat treated the parts? I doubt my customer will accept these parts and therefore we will have to start over unless these is a way to magically shrink the parts.

2. Sent 4340 steel Ø4"OD x 3"ID x .625" thick rings for heat treat to 42-45HRC. Heat treater says they had to re-process the parts as they did not initially meet hardness. Parts came back .010" smaller in diameter. How is this possible?? All of my experience and previous runs of this part have shown that the part grows outwards approx .004".

Any insight would be much appreciated. Thank you

While I haven't been heat treating for anywhere near 20 years, something smells fishy to me. Even when carburizing things in my home shop, I've never had anywhere close to that much movement. Usually not even enough to tell. And as far as nitriding goes, many AR and other rifle barrels are nitrided and still can have incredible accuracy. It seems like most barrel makers try and hold at most .0003 over then length of the bore, so the process can clearly be done with minimal movement. I would really thing about contacting another heat treating company and see what they have to say about it.

I hope you can get it figured out.

One of the worst aspects of being a machinist - getting totally screwed by heat treaters, platers, and others that take our hard work, muck it up, and hand it back with a "them's the breaks" "apology".