What's new
What's new

Is it normal for your tooling to cost as much if not more than your lathe?

greenthing

Plastic
I'm new to machining and I had no idea when starting that by the time I got all the necessary tooling it would end up costing me more than an actual lathe. This includes measurement instruments, collets, chucks, bits, improved parts, calibration tools, so on and so on. Not to mention actual stock. How much have you invested into tooling? I feel like turning metal is a waste of time if I'm just eyeballing everything and cutting corners...

I second what Mr. Nelson said. This hobby/occupation is definitely not for the faint of wallet. You're smart to want to steer away from cutting corners. Few things will bite you or waste your time more then half ass setups and tooling.

Welcome, I had sticker shock also when I started out. I bought machines that had problems and were cheap because of that, and learned to fix them. Learning about carbide inserts, tool geometry and what to use for each operation helps a lot, then you know what to look for at auctions/sales.

Not wanting to incur any debt I started off part time as a manual shop. For the first couple years I was just hoping the jobs paid for the tooling needed to make it. Let alone the support equipment needed.

The short answer to the question is "yes."

It's one of the things I always stress to a novice who wants to buy a machine tool. Tooling cost = machine cost, within about 25 percent. The tooling can be bought "one piece at a time" as johnny cash once said.

I'm new to machining and I had no idea when starting that by the time I got all the necessary tooling it would end up costing me more than an actual lathe. This includes measurement instruments, collets, chucks, bits, improved parts, calibration tools, so on and so on. Not to mention actual stock. How much have you invested into tooling? I feel like turning metal is a waste of time if I'm just eyeballing everything and cutting corners...