What's new
What's new

best general purpose scriber? carbide? diamond?

proFeign

Cast Iron
howdy all,

i'm a recently graduated mechanical engineer with about 2000 hours of time in the school machine shop and other shops and I was wondering if there was a consensus about which scribe/scribe type was best for general apron-pocket use...

i've only ever used cheapo generic carbide scribes and I just broke the shank on the cheapo one I've been using. it lasted two days. it was a "general" brand one and the aluminum shaft the tip was pressed into was hollow and not really up to the job.

anyway i'd be happy to spend $30 on a good one with replaceable tips, especially if there's a good retractable one that isn't all sloppy because it's not rigid. also is diamond a bad idea for general scribing of Al and SS? I won't be mean to it but the diamond tools i've used always break or chip eventually, and usually pretty fast, and carbide is plenty hard for most of what i do, except it's pretty borderline on the super-hardened steels i occasionally have to mark. but i doubt diamond would live long enough for metal scribing to make it worth the aggravation.

i'm worried that the retractable ones will wobble around, which shouldn't be a big problem if they built it well but might be a problem on a cheapo that's like a crappy ballpoint with a scribe in place of the ink.

anyway, i'll spend the money on a good one, but if they're all pretty much the same i should probably just buy a bunch of cheap ones (this is what i do with various things like 6" flexible rules since they get lost) and just consider them a consumable...

any thoughts?

General use ? - Make your own from silver steel (drill rod), harden the pointy end right out. You get a few scribers out of $5 worth of rod & you have $25 to fritter away on Jack D or beer. ;)
Mark

I use a cheapo carbide tip scriber with replaceable points. (they will last for a long time)