What's new
What's new

O/T - Dry Film Lubrication - application to small bores

motion guru

Diamond
We are looking at how we can best apply a light coating of dry film lubricant to inside diameter of a small cylindrical housings on a production machine doing about 10 parts a minute without making a mess.

Cylindrical housings have inner dimensions of 0.05 - 0.38 inches in diameter x 0.15 - 0.63 inches long and need a uniform coating of lubricant.

We can capture the part and seal it between two flanges using right sized o-rings . . . but how do we atomize? aerosolize? the dry film lube and blow through the cylinder with any excess being reclaimed and recirculated through the system? Is this a good application for electrostatic coating? :confused:

I have never done anything like this before but want to include this feature in a machine that is manufacturing and assembling these components for a customer. Anyone here with experiencing with automatic application of film coatings of lubricant? The parts will be heated and dried right after application of the lube.

You might also have to think about part orientation to minimize gravitational buildup or meniscus effects.

If you've got a specific coating in mind, contact the vendor for that product. They should have application engineers that have dealt with these issues before.

I've done something similar with a fluoropolymer coating on an aluminum bore before, but that material would only bond directly to the aluminum substrate in a single molecular layer--with any extra simply blowing away--so control of dispense volume and layer thickness wasn't important (other than cost of wasted material).

For that process I used a spray nozzle that we developed by modifying a glue dispense needle to have little radial holes and a capped end. Air and the coating material were mixed in the right ratio via conventional Nordsen spray valves and then piped to the applicator needle.