What's new
What's new

oil foaming in milling machine gear box

Thompsonguitars

Aluminum
Changed the oil in my milling machine gear box .
It's a splash system no pumps or filters . (Abene)
The manual calls for shell telus 29 which is now
shell telus 46 which is what I put in. Seems a little light to me . In any case it is foaming ,
building up right away on start up. I called Shell and the guy said to try Omala 68 gear oil.
I do see a posting online from Abene that calls for
Mobil 600 XP 68 . Don't like the foam .Any insight would be mighty welcome .
Thanks, Ted

I'm not a oil expert so keep that in mind. If the oil you put in is the the oil companys approved replacement for the original oil what's to worry about? I bet they have studied it.
Is the oil supposed to foam to lube upper bearings?

It's not hydraulics so I wouldn't worry over much about it, lots of gearboxes foam, and putting in thicker oil is often a bad move, ..........it tends to get thrown from where it should be and not being thin doesn't drain back as quickly as it should, ..........great way to cook gearbox bearings.

That's my take, but on pondering;-

I suppose you could try looking for an equivalent hydraulic oil - as they have anti foaming additives.

Tellus S2 M 46 a a hydraulic oil and is supposed to be anti foam. Where did you get it? How sure are you that you got the correct oil? There are 9 product lines called Tellus.

Tellus S2 M 46 a a hydraulic oil and is supposed to be anti foam. Where did you get it? How sure are you that you got the correct oil? There are 9 product lines called Tellus.

There is a Mobile DTE series hydraulic oil that Clausing folk use in headstock and apron gearboxes, replacing the original Tellus oils. Given the ISO viscosity, which DTE to use is clear.

Ted, Sir