What's new
What's new

Okuma ls apron gear problem

Hovet

Plastic
Hi.
I have just gotten a okuma ls. It is a 10hp (7,5kw). I dont know what year, does anyone know?

I am not very good with the english terminology for lathes but ill try to explain. If i want to move the apron/carrier back and forth it will stop and ill have to help it further.

I noticed one gear is missing some teeth so that is the problem.

I was wondering how do i Remove the gear and where can i buy a new one?

Dropbox - Bilde 10.01.2021, 13 25 08.jpg - Simplify your life

Dropbox - Bilde 10.01.2021, 13 25 28.jpg - Simplify your life

Dropbox - Bilde 04.01.2021, 10 46 18.jpg - Simplify your life

I have an Okuma LS 540x1500 10hp too. Okuma parts are still available from Okuma but were expensive as I recall. Like STUPID expensive. My carriage was really dirty and a little rusty from running coolant on it with the top fill hole open. I had to pull the apron and clean and replace a few things. I ended up replacing the gear that rides on the rack cause mine was worn a bit. I sourced one from HPC gears in England as they were the only metric ones I could find. I turned the old gear off and press fit the new one on. As to the serial #, I got an email from a guy 8 years ago that said this -- fun fact, the serial number has the date code followed by the serial number, the 41 is year, expressed in the year of the emperor, so 1925 + 41 is the year 1966, and month is the 09, so September. The serial number would be 10352.