What's new
What's new

OT?-Anyone Used These Ebay Hydraulic Hose Crimpers

alskdjfhg

Diamond
I'd like to start buying bulk hydraulic hose and fittings to start making my own hoses. Got a few projects coming up where Id save alot making vs buying.

I'd like a normal hydraulic hose crimpers, but I saw this Separable Hydraulic Hose Crimper 7 Dies Portable Crimper Snap Automotive GREAT | eBay and was wondering if anyone had used one before for hydraulic hoses on heavy equipment.

They say it goes up to -12, which would cover the majority of my needs

Not sure if they are saying the dies are Aluminum or just the body. I would doubt the heat treat on the dies. They may be too soft and wear/deform quickly or too hard and shatter under load. Cheap tools are often poorly heat treated or the wrong type of steel.
If the dies can be replaced with quality make products it is probably okay.

First I will say I have no knowledge of the the Ebay crimper. It might make sense if you need to get down machinery back on line in a hurry. The vast array of fittings required would make me question the pay back. Different type hose, different size hose, pipe thread, o ring seal, JIC, right angle, swivel and on and on all require different fittings.

I have found an online source for hydraulic hoses that is less than half the price of locally sourced hoses. While it takes about a week to get the product and you don't have to stock every conceivable fitting and hose. They charge a reasonable price for the fittings and hose and a ten dollar labor charge per hose. The shipping is probably similar to what it would cost me to drive to a local supplier.

I bought quite a few adapters from them in the past and now have an old backhoe that the hoses have lost much of their outer rubber and have been buying a few hoses at a time as a preemptive strike to imminent failures.

Their web site is DiscountHydraulicHose.com. Standard disclaimer, no affiliation, just a satisfied customer.