What's new
What's new

OT Auto: New Wheels for Envoy

EPAIII

Diamond
My Envoy apparently needs new wheels. I have had a long going air leak in one of the rear tires and I thought I had pinned it down to one of the brand X tires so I replaced both rear tires. But I still have the leak. It goes down in about a month or six weeks. Real slow. I was told that there was rust inside the wheels and even shown it, but I thought my tire swapping routine had eliminated the wheels. But apparently both of them were allowing leaks.

Anyway, I guess I need to replace the wheels. I have zero experience with that and am wondering what to look out for and also how to get a good price while not going too cheap and asking for more problems. I am thinking aluminum, but am open to suggestions.

And should I shop locally or order on the internet?

All ideas and thoughts are welcome.

TIA!

Leaking wheels are pretty rare--not something you're going to encounter very often. I would think that
any decent wheel will do the job. Pick something that looks good (to you) and fits your price range and
go for it, Whether you buy local or on the net really depends on what you can find and how much you
want to spend...

There are places that buy and sell stock wheels taken off new cars at the dealership when they sell upgrades. I bought a set of new factory Mustang wheels for $100. My guy was in Lakeland Fl, so probably not helpful to you.

I agree....look for OEM take-offs. Most aftermarket wheels are poop in one way or the other, even if you pay big $$$.

Are you near the coast? that much rust in Texas seems unlikey to me. Is it the wheel leaking or is it the bead seat? Do not limit yourself to Envoy wheels many GM make wheels will fit fine. Just check offsets etc. I would bet some car wheels will bolt up as well.
added on edit: