What's new
What's new

OT- Best technique for soldering D Sub terminals ?

Milacron

Administrator
Staff member
Like these- Solder Cup D-Sub Connector, DB15 Female - SD15S

I've used these many times before but it's been a while and now can't remember how I did it ! Maybe I tinned the wire ends with solder first but seems like the easiest would be to use liquid solder (real solder, not glue....should be kept refrigerated). Thoughts ?

I like to do it by first tinning each solder cup, then tinning the wire ends, then re-heating each cup/wire in turn and slipping the wire in when the solder melts.

Definitely hold the connector in a vise of some sort, and it is also nice if you can rig up a second vise or other arrangement for holding the cable in position.

You can hold each wire with a small needle-nose plier as you slip it into the solder cup.

Very thin solder is nice, as is a small tip on the iron.

When I did it for a living, tin connector cups, tin wire end, connector in a little vise, reheat the solder cup, dip the wire in, wait one second, remove heat, wait 4 seconds release, repeat

Pretinning the connector helps keep you sane so that you always get 1, 2, 3, 7 instead of some random pin

heat shrink makes it pretty if loose in a cabinet, but if in a housing not required.

I like to do it by first tinning each solder cup, then tinning the wire ends, then re-heating each cup/wire in turn and slipping the wire in when the solder melts.
Definitely hold the connector in a vise of some sort, and it is also nice if you can rig up a second vise or other arrangement for holding the cable in position.
You can hold each wire with a small needle-nose plier as you slip it into the solder cup.
Very thin solder is nice, as is a small tip on the iron.

This has always worked best for me, I did a few DB9s this way just last week.

1) binocular microscope or your own favorite brand of magnification.

2) strip the wire ends a bit long.