What's new
What's new

How to cut a narrow slot in thick SS

mr coffee

Plastic
I am a newbie hobbyist seeking the advice and wisdom of you more experienced than I.

I am going to be cutting a notch in 300 series SS which will be thick stock about 3/8” x 3/4” x 1”. There will actually be two slots in line with each other, with a small gap between them - about 1/16”. The slots will be about 1/8” wide, and one only needs to be about 1/8” deep. The other needs to be at increasingly depth from 1/16” on the end adjacent to the other slot, to 1/2” where it exits the part. The slots are in the 3/8” wide side of the blocks. Precise slot widths are unimportant, and the shape of the ends of the slots are also unimportant - I presume rounded, or square-ish if cut with an abrasive disk.
I have an old Bridgeport clone with a 6” Kurt clone vise. I have no horizontal attachment so if I was going to use thin metal-cutting disks, I will need to make some kind of arbor to hold 4 or 4-1/2” disks and hold the work protruding from the side of the vise, I can adjust the angle of the vise relative to the table if that would be better than using the curve of the disk (assuming use of a cutting disk) or key slot cutter.

I think I have 303, but it might be 304 - yeah, I know that is harder to work with. Pieces are cut to size and squared up.
Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Use a 3/32" end mill then deburr with a countersink. Achieve the angled slot by angling the material in the vise.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

How many do you need to make? If it's "about" 1/8" wide, you could use an end mill, but it may be slowish, or a slitting saw for an R8 arbor. Either could work (without having a super clear mental picture), but may not be the best bet for a run of parts.