What's new
What's new

OT- Chainsaw maintenance and sharpening

Cole2534

Diamond
PM, I'm pretty new to using a chainsaw for more than a few minutes and beyond keeping the lube topped and bar out of the dirt I don't know much.

Does anyone have tips or tricks on how to keep chains sharp, or how to sharpen them? There's obviously a ton of info on the net, but I prefer this group's view on things.

Also- it kind of reminds me of a torch where once I get in the rhythm I feel very safe with it.

Sent via CNC 88HS

PM, I'm pretty new to using a chainsaw for more than a few minutes and beyond keeping the lube topped and bar out of the dirt I don't know much.

Does anyone have tips or tricks on how to keep chains sharp, or how to sharpen them? There's obviously a ton of info on the net, but I prefer this group's view on things.

Also- it kind of reminds me of a torch where once I get in the rhythm I feel very safe with it.

Sent via CNC 88HS

Getting an appropriate size cylindrical file and freshening up the chain occasionally will help. You will need to have it sharpened once in a while to get all the teeth the same height and knock down the guide in front of the teeth. As the teeth get lower the "guide" will prevent the teeth from contacting the wood. You will swear that it is dull when the teeth are actually sharp. Do not get to feeling you are safe. I have clipped my jeans more than once after sawing through a limb, letting the saw drop as you let off the trigger will bite you some day. Having 2 chains is a good idea.
Others may have a lot to offer.

I don't do that much sawing these days with back issues, I can only do a little at a crack, but there isn't all that much to it.

Keep the chain out of the dirt and keep the oil reservoir full is pretty much all you need. I run my saws a little on the richer side instead of that 50:1 a lot of them recommend these days... Better safe than sorry.