Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Virginia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I have been heating my house with wood for over 50 years so needless to say I have cut my share of firewood. There has been a lot of good information on this thread from some folks that obviously know what they are talking about. Just to add a little something, I would say that if you are cutting with a chainsaw and your arms are getting tired...stop. You need to be able to hold that saw at arms length if things turn south. Another thing is not to try to eyeball the rakers when you file them down. Use a gauge. If you cut them too far, you have just ruined your chain. The difference between a saw that cuts well and one which is overly aggressive is thousands of an inch. The other thing I can suggest is using a skip tooth blade. Bailey sells some very nice Oregon skip tooth blades and once you have tried them you will never go back. They take half the time to sharpen and cut beautifully. I have been using them for about the last ten years and the difference is amazing. A stump vice is also a handy thing to have when you need to sharpen the blade in the woods.

2. Likes bryan_machine, eKretz liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

There seem to be some guys with way more chain saw experience than me here. I stumbled across a sharpening video from this guy who isn't annoying, and seems to know what the hell he's doing. What do y'all think?

How to Sharpen a Chainsaw by hand with a file - YouTube

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by eKretz View Post
    Another reason not to stand inline with the chain - the chain can be thrown if you don't keep it good and snug. Anything in the line of fire is a soft target.