What's new
What's new

OT..Cold weather pet shelters

yardbird

Titanium
My daughter has 2 cats that mean the world to her. This summer we built a house together to try to keep them warm over the winter. It's about 27" square and around 3' tall with insulated walls.

I mounted a metal electrical box with a porcelain light fixture for a light bulb as a heat source. I wired it using 12-2 wire and put a 110 plug in on the end to just plug in the wall. With very cold weather in the near future I was considering putting a heat bulb in it to get the temperature up a bit more.

I have no experience with these heat bulbs and am asking if this would not be a good idea? I don't want to burn the place down but would like to get the temperature up a bit higher during the very cold weather.

Anybody build pet shelters with a better idea for heating it?

Before you give me shit about cats I have no say in the matter. I lost the vote 2 to 1.

Thanks as always!

Brent

20161206_112334.jpg

Brent-

I think it's more about insulating the box than the bulb.
My grandfather was a well known hunting dog trainer in Omaha, Nebraska, and at any given time, he would have many dogs, none of which were ever kept in the house (unless they were puppies, or sick). He built these sheet metal dog houses (about 5-6' square with sloped roofs that lifted off) that were lined with rigid foam. The design was such that the dog would enter and then take a sharp left at the back of the house, and enter his sleeping chamber. This chamber was lined with straw, and had a single caged bulb in the ceiling. I don't think it was more than 60W. The offset chamber kept the wind out, and the sheet metal and rigid foam kept the warmth in. These dogs were fine, happy and well cared for through many cold Nebraska winters. Should work for cats too!

ECJ