What's new
What's new

OT - decent brand of house switches and 120v outlets?

awake

Titanium
My house is about 25 years old, and the cheap electrical installation by the builder is starting to act up. Part of the problem may be due to using the push-type connections rather than screw, but may also be the quality (or lack thereof) of the hardware. In any case, I anticipate replacing all of the switches and electrical outlets over the next few months.

So ... any recommendations for a "good" grade of switches and outlets? And a source for same? Ideally I'd like to find that magic point of balance between cost and quality - perhaps not realistic, but I'd like to hope.

I'm no electrician, but I have seen countless recommendations from people that know more than I do to NOT use the push-in terminals on electrical devices.

My house is about 25 years old, and the cheap electrical installation by the builder is starting to act up. Part of the problem may be due to using the push-type connections rather than screw, but may also be the quality (or lack thereof) of the hardware. In any case, I anticipate replacing all of the switches and electrical outlets over the next few months.

So ... any recommendations for a "good" grade of switches and outlets? And a source for same? Ideally I'd like to find that magic point of balance between cost and quality - perhaps not realistic, but I'd like to hope.

Leviton has always been a good brand. Of course they are probably made in China now, but you won't find too many brands that are not.

I've wired a number of home projects (with permits, of course :)) and passed inspections. I always use the screws on the sides of the outlets and switches to secure the wires. I go one step farther and I solder the ground wires together in the outlet boxes. I never use the push-ins to make connections.