Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Oregon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I don't know what the material is, but I have 2 or 3 Cerec crowns, I can't even tell which teeth they are. I had a gold one that I finally lost after about 30 years.

The Cerec is cool, you go in and leave with the crown in one setting. No lab work, no temporary crowns. I watched it machine out the tooth while I was waiting, then it was baked for a little while and it was ready to place. Fit perfect. The whole process only took a couple hours.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

The gold in crowns is actually a gold/palladium alloy. Not sure of the percentages.

Pure gold is way far too soft to be of use for this.

Country
    CANADA
    State/Province
    British Columbia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Hi All:
    I used to be a dentist too.
    My vote is for gold wherever possible.
    Two main reasons:
    1) you don't have to chop as much of the tooth away to make room for the crown, so it's kinder to the tooth.
    2 It's the strongest material that fits the best, is kindest to the opposing teeth, and can it be glued in place with less aggressive cements that are also kinder to the tooth.

My own mouth is full of gold inlays and onlays, done by a buddy decades ago.

Cheers

Marcus
    Implant Mechanix • Design & Innovation > HOME
    Vancouver Wire EDM -- Wire EDM Machining

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Oregon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I think the situation is a bit different for crowns and full-on replacement teeth. I shattered a bicuspid a couple of years ago and was offered two basic choices: chop up the adjacent two healthy teeth to mount a bridge, or get an implant and mount a full replacement. Once the implant finally healed, I had a zirconia replacement mounted.