What's new
What's new

OT: Ebay raising Final Value Fees since they are not going to use PayPal anymore.

Spud

Diamond
Had a long talk with Ebay customer service. With their new managed accounts, the buyer can deposit the money straight into the seller's bank account. So I though I could save the PayPal 2.9% fee levied on the cost of the item+shipping. But there is no saving, infact the seller is going to pay more !

I have a basic subscription, about $27.95 a month. Usually the FVF is about 10%, for the Business and Industrial items I sold. With my susbscription the FVF came to about 7%. Now Ebay tells me , even with the subscription the FVF is 11.5% . So about 1.6% more than what I was paying using PayPal.

By what flight of fantasy did we think any new eBay policy would be good for either the buyer or the seller? The only reason they change anything is to increase their profits.

jack vines

They pretty much just added what a person saves in Paypal fees to the final value cost. Anyone remember when E-bay charged 5% and didn't charge commission on shipping charges? Can people still buy using Paypal? E-bay has steadily raised fees while provider poorer and poorer customer service. I can't believe no one has substantially cut into their revenue.

They pretty much just added what a person saves in Paypal fees to the final value cost. Anyone remember when E-bay charged 5% and didn't charge commission on shipping charges? Can people still buy using Paypal? E-bay has steadily raised fees while provider poorer and poorer customer service. I can't believe no one has substantially cut into their revenue.

I wonder why Bidspotter, Proxibid, GoDove and Ritchie Bros never launched a mainstream bidding platform to compete with Ebay?

I wonder why Bidspotter, Proxibid, GoDove and Ritchie Bros never launched a mainstream bidding platform to compete with Ebay?