What's new
What's new

OT Lee Marshall 1935-2017

I bought one of the titanium birdcage saws and there was a problem with the bends cracking.
Mine slipped through quality control before they fixed the problem and Lee sent me a new one no questions asked promptly. Very nice gentleman. I'm sure he will be missed by all who knew him.

I'm not good at things like this, but good for him. He was still active on the forum until about 4 months ago and seemed completely cogent at age 82. That's an enviable outcome IMHO.

I was going to wait until Brian posted here officially before saying anything as there were business details that needed to be sorted but yeah, he unfortunately passed away Sunday before last.

He was one of the old guys who always had time to talk to me and help me out. Had a standing invite to his shop to ask questions and talk about the business and how to do things. Always supportive, and would also let me know when I was doing something the hard way.

Can't say enough about how great a guy he was toward me when he certainly had no reason at all to be. He will be sorely missed.

I will wait for Brian to fill in the details and business stuff.

Gonna miss him.

Paul B.

Dammit. This is really turning out to be a day of shite. Sorry to hear of this.

Me too...this is not been a great day, and Lee's passing makes it that much worse.

I was wanting to visit his shop and had exchanged a fair amount of email with him. I knew of his saws before meeting him here on PM, they were taking storm of the woodworking community that did hand tool work, for cutting out the waste between dovetails and other joinery.

Very nice guy, was very helpful here, and sure loved his Monarch 10EE. :cheers:

A man with good taste! :)

R.I.P. Lee, you'll long be missed.

Lee was a fantastic guy, always interested in helping and improving wherever he could. His saws are great and I will think of him each time I pick one up. I understand Brian will continue the company.