What's new
What's new

OT: Moving out for the first time, any advice?

capital7

Cast Iron
Hello all,

I'm moving out of my fathers house this week and its my first time being out on my own (Currently 18, not some 35 year old living in the parents basement) Is there any advice or things I should think about when I get my own place?

I would also like to mention that I already take care of myself, and work full time, I know how to cook, do laundry, all the basics.

Thanks in advance!

Be sure to do your due diligence when selecting a location, thoroughly vet anyone you're considering for a roommate and if they have a dog just tell them 'no'.

I'm currently just moving out on my own, no roommates ye so I'll deal with that when I get to it.

Curious as to the "no dogs" policy though, care to explain?

have a good look at any lease you are signing. Once you have signed a lease before you take possession make as detailed inspection as you can with the owner or manager with you. These days easiest to use a video camera to record anything in the place that is damaged or doesn't work properly. I mean test everything and keep recording.

If there is anything you want fixed or altered talk it over with the owner or manager and again record it.

If you see things that aren't what you want and you don't get satisfying answers from owner/manager then as much as you probably don't like it, you might need to spend more time looking for another alternative place to lease.

Anything that is damaged or worn when you take possession, if not noted then when you leave you might get stuck with the repair or damage.

If you can take a friend or family member with you for the inspection it's better yet as they might catch something you don't see.

Exciting times for sure! Hope you love your new place.

Curious as to the "no dogs" policy though, care to explain?