What's new
What's new

OT- Ok so I am an alcoholic

When I first started work it was definitely a cultural thing, the pub was next door and as a first year apprentice, I found myself to be the only person in the building on a pay-day afternoon. The union rep often had to be carried to his car and when placed inside it and the engine started for him, the car would disappear in half an hour or so. I gave up drinking when I developed sleeping disorders and other health problems. It was while before I stopped automatically slowing the car down near the bottle shop out of habit. Alcohol is a class one carcinogen and recent studies show there is no safe level of consumption, just like ionising radiation.

You are right SAG, it can be a cultural thing with lots of peer group pressure.

Have a beer. No I do not want a beer. What are you bloody poofter or something. It can be hard to refuse if you do not want to be castigated, but now it is more accepted then decades ago.

1985 here..
If you hook up with the right guys, there's some humor to be found in the rooms..

Two friends at a wake for another friend[add accents as appropriate]

#1..sad to see, was it the drink that killed him?
#2 'twas
#1 didn't he try AA or something?
#2 nah, it never got that bad!

help? dont you enjoy it? winston churchill e.g. was a notorious alky and that for 100 years or so. they made him prime minister at least twice. there are others. (churchill btw, when staying in the states at the time of the prohibition, had a doctors prescription for using alcohol every day.)

1985 here..
If you hook up with the right guys, there's some humor to be found in the rooms..

Two friends at a wake for another friend[add accents as appropriate]

#1..sad to see, was it the drink that killed him?
#2 'twas
#1 didn't he try AA or something?
#2 nah, it never got that bad!