Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

When I was a project manager many years ago at a software company we had an outside company we would pay to regionalize our software into the languages of our choice. Unfortunately they didn't translate it in finished form. They would give us charts of English words in our software with the corresponding words in the language we were trying to convert it to. My guess was it probably came out very weird in some cases.

I am very used to almost cryptic documentation from the far East. People get a kick out of reading the warning stickers on my Korean Doosan and Hyundai CNC machines.

One that surprised me was my Haimer 3D Taster. I expect better from Germans and also enough people speak both I was not expecting the little pamphlet that comes with them to be so vocabularily labored. It was kind of amusing but made following the instructions very annoying. Expected better for a not inexpensive tool from a very large German company.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Who needs a manual anyway?
    fusker

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Writing manuals is EXPENSIVE, especially technical manuals. The company I worked for purchased upwards of 60 highly sophisticated production machines from an American company based in Chicago. As the machines got older they started to show wear and couldn't be run at their design speed. We contacted the vendor asking for a service/rebuild manual so that our inhouse technicians could refurbish/rebuild the machines. The reply was that no such manual was available and the machines needed to be sent back to the factory for reconditioning.