What's new
What's new

OT Spike strips to protect political sign.......

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have never had a candidate sign in my yard before, so I put one out in the yard. I live on a county road, 55 mph speed limit. Sometime in the past someone put a tile in the ditch and filled it in so the yard is level with the road. So my sign is out there for a day and some asshole drives off the road and mows down the sign. It's about 20'from the edge of the road so after the 3rd time it seems like its not an accident. This pisses me off no end,I was thinking of making some stop strips, 2x4s with a mess of deck screws sticking out an inch or so. So if I did this am I liable for the damage to the tires on the assholes car?

First, keep in mind I'm not a lawyer. I don't even watch TV shows with lawyers in them.

But that in mind, yes, you would almost certainly be liable. Unless you could demonstrate a valid reason for having 2x4s with exposed drywall screws in them laying about in your yard, you would be charged with setting a trap or creating a hazardous condition.

How about hiding a large number of old cans of paint behind or inside the sign? :)

Or upgrading to a heavy steel signpost?

Doc.

You can add a landscape "feature", assuming it is off the road right of way and has the required set back. Something like a brick planter, 24in. high filled with dirt. You could then have the sign in said planter with the flowers and our shrubs.

You can add a landscape "feature", assuming it is off the road right of way and has the required set back. Something like a brick planter, 24in. high filled with dirt. You could then have the sign in said planter with the flowers and our shrubs.

I have a 6' of 4" 3/8 wall box tube, I could get my neighbors fence post driver and wack it in the ground leaving 2' exposed to fasten the sign to. Seems like that would do as much or more damage as spike strips.